The PTO is an organization for our community run by our community. PTO activities are coordinated by Bowman parents/guardians who want to help our students by raising funds and volunteering their time. Please volunteer your time to serve on our committees and make a commitment, no matter how small or large, to become involved with the PTO.

Our committees represent varying levels of involvement for parents. Some are ongoing year long commitments, such as Arts Created Together, Big Backyard, METCO Family Friends, while others are for a single event or activity. These include the Variety Show, Passport to the World, Staff Appreciation Week, and many others. You don’t need to be a committee chair to contribute – all of these events and activities need the support of many parents to be successful.

The chairs for each of our committees are members of the PTO Board and are invited to attend our monthly board meetings.

We categorize our committees and events on the basis of their contribution to the Bowman community. Click on the links to the right or below to learn more about each, including an explanation and contact for each.

Communications

  • Bowman Broadside (broadside@bowmanpto.org)
  • Bowmanpto.org Website (webmaster@bowmanpto.org)
  • Insider’s Guide to Bowman (insidersguide@bowmanpto.org): Need Volunteers!
  • Social media (Facebook and Twitter, socialmedia@bowmanpto.org)

Community Building

  • Back to School Coffee, Picnic (vpcommunity@bowmanpto.org): Need Volunteers!
  • Disco Bingo Night (discobingo@bowmanpto.org)
  • Families In Need Gift Drive (familiesinneed@bowmanpto.org)
  • Food Drive (vpcommunityservice@bowmanpto.org)
  • Green Team / Lunch Composting Volunteers (greenteam@bowmanpto.org)
  • Passport to the World / International Festival (passport@bowmanpto.org)
  • Variety Show (varietyshow@bowmanpto.org)
  • Movie Night (movienight@bowmanpto.org)

Curriculum Enrichment

  • Arts Created Together (ACT) Programming (act@bowmanpto.org): Need Volunteers!
  • Big Backyard (bby@bowmanpto.org)
  • Big Map Night (mapnight@bowmanpto.org): Need Volunteers!
  • BOKS (Building Our Kids’ Success) (boks@bowmanpto.org)
  • Book Swap – Stories Under the Stars (bookshop@bowmanpto.org)
  • Bowman Writes Magazine (bowmanwrites@bowmanpto.org)
  • Family Math Nights (familymathnights@bowmanpto.org)
  • Girls Who Code Club (gwc@bowmanpto.org)
  • Math Team (mathteam@bowmanpto.org)
  • Science Fair (sciencefair@bowmanpto.org)

Fundraising

  • Book Fair (bookfair@bowmanpto.org)
  • Read-A-Thon (vpfundraising@bowmanpto.org)
  • PTO Class Basket Raffle (classbasketraffle@bowmanpto.org)
  • Retail Programs: Need Volunteer!
    • AmazonSmile (amazonsmile@bowmanpto.org): Need Volunteers!
    • Black Earth Compost (greenteam@bowmanpto.org)
    • Box Tops (boxtops@bowmanpto.org)
    • Wilson Farm Shopping Day (shopwilsonfarmsday@bowmanpto.org): Need Volunteers!
    • Shop with Scrip: Need Volunteers!
    • Cricket Flowers: Need Volunteers!
  • Spaghetti Dinner (spaghettidinner@bowmanpto.org): Need Volunteers!
  • Spirit Wear (spiritwear@bowmanpto.org)
  • Kids Fun Run Fundraiser and/or Bowman 5K (vpfundraising@bowmanpto.org): Need Volunteers!

Membership

  • Bowman PTO Membership (vpmembership@bowmanpto.org)
  • School Directory (directory@bowmanpto.org)

School Support

  • 5th Grade Activities (fifthgradeactivities@bowmanpto.org): Need Volunteers!
  • Library Volunteers (libraryvolunteers@bowmanpto.org)
  • Lost & Found Coordinator (lostandfound@bowmanpto.org)
  • METCO Family Friends (metcofamilyfriends@bowmanpto.org)
  • Room Helper Coordinator (roomhelpecoordinator@bowmanpto.org)
  • Safe Routes to School (saferoutes@bowmanpto.org)
  • School Pictures (schoolphotos@bowmanpto.org)
  • Site Council (sitecouncil@bowmanpto.org)
  • SEPAC Liason (sepac@bowmanpto.org)
  • LHS Building Project Liasion (lhsbuildingrep@bowmanpto.org)
  • LEF Liason (lefrep@bowmanpto.org)
  • Staff Appreciation Events (staffappreciation@bowmanpto.org)
  • Artsonia (artsonia@bowmanpto.org): Need Volunteers!
  • School Grounds Beautification: Need Volunteers!